Skip to content

Death Becomes Us

August 16, 2011
by

We all die. When I was a child, this frightened me. I would be unable to sleep at least once a week, staring at the ceiling and feeling myself getting inexorably older. Minute by minute. I would be so scared of dying I was unable to bring myself to act alive.

In case you haven’t noticed by the staggering inactivity around here, this blog is dead. It started as a fun idea tossed around a birthday party, and I came into it with enthusiasm and grand ambitions. But one can’t get too far on enthusiasm and ambition. When I left Istanbul – some could argue even before then – writing daily, or even weekly, about the city and the country became untenable.

No need for teary goodbyes or any sort of sense of loss. Death comes at us in its time and all we can do is be there to stand and face it. Istanbul Alti was a learning experience and a lot of fun to write. I learned a lot from it and have a better idea of the weaknesses of the format and how I can defeat them. This will not be the last internet foray, methinks. I came out of Bataan and I shall return.

Istanbul Alti will live on at https://istanbulalti.wordpress.com/

My writing, until I cook up something better, is at http://gazistan.blogspot.com/

The “about me” is still live and I still know what I’m talking about, so still feel free to contact me about whatever.

With all thanks to Rebecca, Justin, Hector, and the rest of the people who’ve helped out throughout, it’s time to move on. Görüşmek Üzere.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

